W.K. Kellogg International Food Security Award and Lectureship

Purpose: To honor an IFT member working in academics, research institutes or the government, regardless of geographic origin, whose outstanding efforts result in one or more of the following: 

  1. Enabling and increasing access to nutritious food in non-industrialized countries;
  2. Developing emerging technologies and/or research that addresses non-industrialized countries food needs, food safety, and food security; and/or   
  3. Contributing toward the technological development in one or more local food industries to help foster economic development in non-industrialized countries.

Sponsor: Kellogg Company

Champion: IFT International Division

Award: $3,500 honorarium, complimentary registration to IFT’s Annual Meeting & Food Expo and a plaque. Total award is valued at more than $4,000.

Eligibility: The industrialized world understands the need to improve the availability and nutrition of non-industrialized countries food supplies; however, there remains a great need and opportunity to identify solutions that meet these population’s health needs and food preferences in a cost-effective manner for both consumers and companies.

This award is intended to recognize emerging research that made substantial advances on how foods can be better manufactured and made available for emerging economies. All countries listed under the World Banks' country and lending group regions are qualifying emerging economies.

Nominees must be members of IFT working in academic environments, research institutes or the government and be actively engaged in training scientists. Mid-level career academicians are encouraged to apply, although nominees from all career levels are welcomed.  Nominees must have published related research in peer-reviewed scientific journals.

Special Instructions 

Please submit the following documents with your nomination:

  • Nomination Statement; must not be more than four typed pages
  • Letter of Reference

Nominations are now closed.

2020: Alexander Mathys

2019: Christiani Jeyakumar Henry

2018: Dominique Bounie

2017: Manjeet Chinnan

2016: Pablo Juliano

2015: Octavio Paredes-Lopez

2014: Olive Yao Li

2013: Anna V.A. Resurreccion

2012: Bruce Hamaker