William V. Cruess Award

Purpose: To honor an IFT member who has achieved excellence in teaching food science and technology. 

Sponsor: Institute of Food Technologists and Northern California Section IFT

Award: $3,000 honorarium from IFT and a bronze medal from Northern California Section IFT 

Eligibility: Any IFT member who has at least five years of experience in university teaching in a department offering a bachelors degree in food science, food technology, or the equivalent is eligible. Courses taught by the nominee must deal directly with some aspect of food science or food technology. 

Special Instructions

Please submit the following documents with your nomination:

  • Members of the IFT Student Association may nominate nominees for this award. A Nomination Statement is not required, but, if provided, must not be more than one typed page.
  • The nomination should be accompanied by no more than five one-page letters signed by students, former students, or groups of students who have taken courses taught by the nominee. These letters should discuss one or more of the following criteria: (1) mastery of subject matter; (2) ability to communicate effectively the principles and practices of food processing and preservation; (3) enthusiasm for the field of food science and technology as a profession; (4) ability to stimulate students to select a professional career in food science and technology; and (5) ability to counsel effectively.
  • Although not required, two (one-page) letters from professional colleagues and administrators may also be offered but will not be used as primary evidence.

Nominations are now closed.

2020: Martha Verghese

2019: M. Monica Giusti

2018: Luis Rodriguez-Saona

2017: Soo-Yeun Lee

2016: Ronald Pegg

2015: Gabriel Keith Harris

2014: F. Xavier Malcata

2013: Mark A. Harrison

2012: Nicki Engeseth

2011: Jeff Culbertson

2010: E. Allen Foegeding

2009: Mukund Karwe

2008: Stephanie Doores

2007: Ronald Earl Wrolstad

2006: Robert L. Shewfelt

2005: Brian E. Farkas

2004: Wayne T. Iwaoka

2003: John H. Rupnow

2002: S. Suzanne Nielsen

2001: Shelly J. Schmidt

2000: Richard D. Ludescher

1999: Karen M. Schaich

1998: Richard W. Hartel

1997: Faye M. Dong

1996: Grady W. Chism III

1995: John B. Allred

1994: Peggy M. Foegeding

1993: Michael E. Mangino

1992: Daniel E. Carroll, Jr.

1991: Paul A. Lachance

1990: James W. Berry

1989: Howard A. Morris

1988: Mark A. Uebersax

1987: J. Ian Gray

1986: John W. Erdman, Jr.

1985: Norman N. Potter

1984: C. Anton Ernstrom

1983: James L. Oblinger

1982: John J. Powers

1981: Richard L. Merson

1980: Roy Arnold

1979: Theodore P. Labuza

1978: Owen R. Fennema

1977: Rose Marie Pangborn

1976: Fergus M. Clydesdale

1975: Charles M. Stine

1974: Elizabeth F. Stier

1973: John R. Whitaker

1972: Edward E. Burns

1971: Clifford E. Samuels

1970: Marcus Karel