Stephen Chang Award

Purpose: To honor an IFT-member food scientist or technologist who has made significant contributions to lipid or flavor science.

Sponsor: Stephen S. Chang Endowment Trust Fund supported by the Taiwan Food Industries

Award: $3,000 and a crystal sculpture

Eligibility: The contributions can be on any aspect of lipid or flavor science, ranging from basic chemistry to applied technology, but must have had some impact on commercial operations. The award applies to all disciplines involved in lipid or flavor science. For example, the nominee: (1) studies the basic chemistry and mechanism of autoxidation of lipids and the knowledge is used by one or more companies to improve the stability of their products; (2) publishes papers concerning the chemistry and processes for the removal, from fats and oils, of impurities which might be harmful to health, and the knowledge is used by one or more companies to improve the wholesomeness of their products; (3) studies basic chemistry and the process of deep-fat frying, and this information is used by one or more companies to improve their deep-fat fried foods; (4) significantly contributes to the understanding of the chemical synthetic or biosynthetic process for the optimization of production of new, or nature-alike, flavor chemicals; (5) identifies the chemical profiles of potential flavor sources and pinpoints the importance of key flavor chemicals by correlating them with physiological flavor response; or (6) makes significant advances in the development of analytical methodology in flavor chemistry.

Special Instructions

Please submit the following documents with your nomination:

  • Nomination Statement; must not be more than four typed pages.
  • Curriculum vitae or lists of publications and patents are not acceptable. Letter of Reference

Nominations are now closed.

2020: Liangli (Lucy) Yu

2018: Devin G. Peterson

2016: Karen Schaich

2014: Alejando G. Marangoni

2012: Michael Eskin

2010: Cameron Faustman

2009: Pamela White

2008: Casimir C. Akoh

2007: Keith R. Cadwallader

2006: Eric A. Decker

2005: Fereidoon Shahidi

2004: Herbert O. Hultin

2003: Gary R. List

2002: Chi-Tang Ho

2001: Michael M. Blumenthal

2000: Terry E. Acree

1999: W. James Harper

1998: Robert C. Lindsay

1997: John M. deMan

1996: Wassef W. Nawar

1995: David B. Min

1994: Gary A. Reineccius

1993: Edward G. Perkins