Research and Development Award

Award: $3,000 honorarium and a plaque from IFT (if a team wins each member of the team will receive a plaque and an equal share of the $3,000) 

Eligibility: All team members must be IFT members. Team nominations should identify those persons primarily responsible for the achievement. Team size is limited to a maximum of five persons. Team nominations should identify the role of each team member in accomplishment. Once a nomination is submitted, no additional team members may be added.

The nominee(s) must be primarily responsible for an achievement within the past five years, in a research and development program. The achievement must significantly advance the discipline of food science, food technology, or nutrition. The contribution may be basic or applied in nature and must advance science or improve the human condition. The nominee(s) may have worked in any field (including academic, industrial, government, consulting, self-employment or other endeavors). 

Special Instructions:

Please submit the following documents with your nomination:

  • Nomination statement; must not be more than four typed pages
  • Letter of reference

Nominations are now closed.

2020: Yanyun Zhao

2019: Lisa J. Mauer

2018: Representing the Innovative Infrared Research and Development Team: Drs. Zhongli Pan, Tara H. McHugh, Chandrasekar Venkitasamy, Ragab Gebreil, and Hamed M. El-Mashad (Western Regional Research Center, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service and the University of California, Davis)

2017: Gustavo V. Barbosa-Cánovas

2016: Josip Simunovic

2015: Ahmed E. Yousef

2014: Kevin M. Keener

2013: MaryAnne Drake

2012: Vijay K. Juneja

2011: Micha Peleg

2010: Representing the Washington State University Microwave Sterilization Consortium: Kenny Lum, Juming Tang; C. Patrick Dunne; Douglas Hahn; Evan Turek; The Ferrite Company, Rexam PLC, Graphic Packaging and Ocean Beauty Seafoods, LLC

2009: Arun Bhunia

2008: Casimir C. Akoh

2007: D. Julian McClements

2006: Eric A. Decker

2004: Richard Hartel

2003: E. Allen Foegeding

2002: Clair L. Hicks

2001: Steven J. Schwartz

2000: John B. Luchansky

1999: Bruce A. Watkins

1998: Todd R. Klaenhammer

1997: Sudhir K. Sastry