Bor S. Luh International Award

Purpose: To honor an IFT member or an institution whose outstanding efforts result in one or more of the following: (1) international exchange of ideas in the field of food technology; (2) better international understanding in the field of food technology; and/or (3) practical successful transfer of food technology to an economically depressed area in a developing or developed nation. 

Award: $3,000 honorarium and a plaque from the Bor S. Luh Endowment Fund of Feeding Tomorrow.

Eligibility: A balance between technology transfer and international exchange of ideas is desirable. 

  • International exchange of ideas may be defined as one-on-one interactions, including sustained consulting or advising in several countries. This may include educating and training students, researchers, plant workers, and others who return to foreign lands.
  • Better international understanding may be defined as continued interaction through international seminars, symposia, or working groups. Organizing responsibility is an important component.
  • Technology transfer is a hands-on operation involving successful one-to-one transfer of food technology from those who have the knowledge to those who need and use it.

The result must be a new, commercially viable process, packaging system, post-harvest preservation system, or other application of food science and technology of direct benefit to the local economy. Although such work could start with joint assessment of the need and potential market, and involve training in the donors laboratories or pilot plant, emphasis is on on-site training and development of sufficient duration (probably at least six months) so the process continues to function and benefit consumers long after the donor has returned home.

Special Instructions 

Please submit the following documents with your nomination:

  • Nomination Statement; must not be more than four typed pages
  • Letter of Reference

Nominations are now closed.

2020: Yen-Con Hung

2019: Valente B. Alvarez

2018: P. Kumar Mallikarjunan

2017: Joseph Jen

2016: Jae Park

2015: Joe Regenstein

2014: Theodore P. Labuza

2013: George E. Inglett

2012: Richard F. Stier

2011: Gleyn Bledsoe

2010: Syed S.H. Rizvi

2009: Anna V.A. Resurreccion

2008: Bruce Hamaker

2007: Manjeet S. Chinnan

2006: Miguel A. Jimenez

2005: INTSOY (International Soybean Program)

2004: Soliman Y.K. Shenouda

2003: Poul Hansen

2002: James H. Moy

2001: Gustavo V. Barbosa-Cánovas

2000: Khee Choon Rhee

1999: B. Onuma Okezie 

1998: Herbert Ockerman

1997: Daniel Y.C. Fung

1996: Larry R. Beuchat

1995: Daryl B. Lund

1994: Alex Malaspina

1993: Jose Miguel Aguilera

1992: Malcolm C. Bourne

1991: University of Georgia & University of Nigeria

1990: Judson M. Harper

1989: Stephen S. Chang

1988: R. Paul Singh

1987: Adolph S. Clausi

1986: Richard L. Hall

1985: Keith H. Steinkraus

1984: James Bunnell

1983: F.V. Kosikowski

1982: Frederick J. Francis

1981: Frode Bramsnaes

1980: John C. Ayres

1979: John Hawthorn

1978: Stephen W. Bogyo

1977: Joseph H. Hulse

1976: Clinton O. Chichester

1975: Georg A. Borgstrom

1974: Hisateru Mitsuda

1973: Francis Aylward

1972: Fritz H. Reuter

1971: Aaron M. Altschul

1970: David B. Hand

1969: Nevin S. Scrimshaw

1968: Max Milner

1967: Zoltan I. Kertesz

1966: George F. Stewart

1965: Mortimer L. Anson

1964: E.C. Bate-Smith

1963: Emil M. Mrak

1962: Lawrence J. Lynch

1961: Maynard A. Joslyn

1960: James R. Vickery

1959: Ross A. Chapman

1958: Henri Cheftel

1957: Laurence V. Burton

1956: Robert S. Scull