Bernard L. Oser Food Ingredient Safety Award

Purpose: To honor an IFT member for his or her contribution to the scientific knowledge of food ingredient safety or leadership in establishing principles for food ingredient safety evaluation or regulation.

Sponsor: The Bernard L. Oser Endowment Fund of Feeding Tomorrow

Award: $3,000 honorarium and a plaque

Eligibility: The nominee must have been a professional in the area of food additive or GRAS ingredient safety in an academic, industrial, and/or government setting for at least 10 years. The area of professional involvement for this award can include toxicological research, analytical research, safety/regulatory involvement, and associated scientific work in support of food additive and GRAS ingredient safety evaluation and policy development. Publications and examples of leadership qualities in the area of safety evaluation will be the criteria for final selection.

Special Instructions

Please submit the following documents with your nomination:

  • Nomination statement; Must not be more than four typed pages. Attach a numbered list of nominee’s publications, and, to save space, refer to them in the nomination statement using these numbers.
  • Letter of reference

Nominations are now closed.

2020: James R. Coughlin

2018: Joseph V. Rodicks

2016: Carl Winter

2014: Charles H. Manley

2012: James Griffiths

2010: Barbara Petersen

2009: Bill Helferich

2008: Thomas Montville

2007: Michael W. Pariza

2006: George A. Burdock

2005: Ian C. Munro

2004: Andrew G. Ebert

2003: Steve L. Taylor

2001: Joseph F. Borzelleca

2000: Richard L. Hall